Sigx

We are the future in the past.
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:32 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SigX stops screensaver?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:54 am
Posts: 4
Location: Manchester, UK
Have been using SigX for a while now with WMP, and I've noticed that when WMP is active and SigX is running then screensaver doesn't kick in.

The problem seem to be that the plugin's function that updates the WMP title bar with the currently playing track stops the screensaver, as if I set the screensaver interval to 1 minute (or any interval less than the typical song length) then the ss will kick in during the track, but if the track changes the ss will not kick in. With an interval of 1 min the ss will kick in 1 min after the track changes though!

Have tested this by stopping the SigX plugin and the screensaver then kicks in OK.

Anyone experienced this, or just me? Couldn't find anything when searching the forum..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:54 am
Posts: 4
Location: Manchester, UK
Should also say, SigX v1.1.7, Windows XP SP1, WMP10beta(same prob with WMP9 though)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 3:06 pm
Posts: 652
i know that WMP usually disables the screensaver when it thinks its playing a movie, are you sure you dont have a movie playing on that thing when this happends.

i'v tryed previewing a screensaved in windows 2000 and it doesnt kick me out of the screen saver at all.

I was not aware of this, I'll look into why its doing it right now.


Edit:
I'v commented out my code and it seems to be a microsoft issue.

_________________
Image
~~~SigX C++ Edition~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:54 am
Posts: 4
Location: Manchester, UK
Thanks for looking into it, having done further testing it does seem to me like its an issue with WMP itself rather than SigX, I thought I'd got it reproducible but it now seems random! WMP is my primary culprit, but what's the chances of them fixing it :wink:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 3:06 pm
Posts: 652
have no idea i'v never reported a bug to microsoft. Maybe if i report this one they will be able to fix it in the next version of WMP.

_________________
Image
~~~SigX C++ Edition~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:54 am
Posts: 4
Location: Manchester, UK
thats a good point, the WMP10 beta developers have a forum on the ms site..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group